Powderfinger Vulture Street

After the unprecedented success of Odyssey Number Five, Powderfinger started playing large venues in Australia, as well as in the US while on tour with Coldplay. These experiences led them to want to make a rock record whose sound could fill a huge space. And rock they did.

Vulture Street was released on 4 July 2003, and was a smack in the jaw of pure rock ‘n’ roll. For the third time, Nick DiDia was hired as producer, this time also with Tony Reyes.

The change of pace on Vulture Street was welcomed with open arms. The album peaked at number 1 on the ARIA charts, and later picked up 4 ARIA awards—becoming their third consecutive record to win Album of the Year honours.

After deciding that they wanted to change musical direction and make a rock record, it took the band about 4-5 months of jamming and writing songs to agree on what a Powderfinger ‘rock song’ should sound like.

But their patience paid off, with rollicking songs like (Baby I’ve Got You) On My Mind, Since You’ve Been Gone, Love Your Way, Sunsets, Stumblin’, and Rockin’ Rocks soon to follow.

Vulture Street is a free-flowing, up-beat record whose energy is instantly infectious. Where Odyssey Number Five was a melodic journey into emotional landscapes, Vulture Street strutted. And it left you with a smile on your face.

But Vulture Street is about much more than just rock songs: at its core is the signature Powderfinger emphasis on melody, hooks and lyrical depth.

As for the title of the album, Ian Haug says that one day he simply looked out the window of their Brisbane rehearsal room at the street sign he saw every single day and said, ‘Why don’t we just fucking call it Vulture Street?’ And that was that. Rock on.

Next release: Fingerprints

Track listing

1. Rockin’ Rocks
2. (Baby I’ve Got You) On My Mind
3. Since You’ve Been Gone
4. Love Your Way
5. Sunsets
6. Don’t Panic
7. Stumblin’
8. Roll Right By You
9. How Far Have We Really Come?
10. Pockets
11. A Song Called Everything