‘Odyssey Number Five’ 20th Anniversary Deluxe Edition

Today, Powderfinger are proud to announce that a Deluxe Edition of Odyssey Number Five will be released on 4th September 2020 – twenty years to the day of the original release.

‘Odyssey Number Five’ 20th Anniversary Deluxe Edition

PRE-ORDER Odyssey Number Five Deluxe Edition

PRE-ORDER new Powderfinger merchandise

PRE-SAVE Odyssey Number Five on your preferred platform

10x Platinum, beyond Diamond accreditation; three weeks at #1; 25 weeks in the Top Ten; 6x ARIA awards. Odyssey Number Five was the album that propelled Powderfinger into the stratosphere after the passionate mainstream embrace experienced by Internationalist. It was voted #1 in triple J’s Hottest 100 Australian Albums of All Time and earned an inclusion in the 100 Best Australian Albums in 2011. ‘My Kind of Scene’, ‘Like A Dog’, ‘Waiting For The Sun’ and, of course, ‘My Happiness’ and ‘These Days’ became anthems for the time and are some of Powderfinger’s most popular recordings to this day. They laid the foundation for Odyssey Number Five to earn a place in Australian music history as a classic Australian record.

The Deluxe vinyl is available to pre-order now on 180-gram coloured vinyl and 2CD, also available to pre-save on streaming platforms. Packaged in a lavish gatefold sleeve with full colour inner sleeves, the Deluxe vinyl and CD house the story behind the album in all-new liner notes from the band. The album has been remastered for vinyl by Don Bartley from Benchmark Mastering and is spread across two LP’s.

The anniversary also provided an opportunity for the band to unveil previously unreleased recordings. The original 11-track album has been expanded to 21 recordings, boasting previously unheard acoustic arrangements of ‘My Happiness’ and ‘Up & Down & Back Again’, three B-sides from the time – ‘Nature Boy’, ‘Fuzzy Wolf’ and a sparsely-beautiful piano version of ‘Whatever Makes You Happy’ – and the addition of five covers that offer the biggest surprise and delight to core fans. ‘Love My Way’ (originally by Psychedelic Furs), ‘Rocket Reducer No. 62’ (originally by MC5) and ‘The Number Of The Beast’ (originally by Iron Maiden) will now be available for the first time digitally. The addition of a frenzied rendition of Joy Division’s ‘Transmission’ and a haunting take on Elvis Costello’s ‘Let Him Dangle’ – both previously unreleased – complete a sweep of covers that reveal the melting pot of influences that inform Powderfinger’s alchemy.

The band will also be releasing their official film clips Remastered in High Definition for the very first time on their YouTube channel – one per week from today – and have also released a new range of merchandise themed around the album.